Welcome To Website IAS

Hot news

Independence Award

- First Rank - Second Rank - Third Rank

Labour Award

- First Rank - Second Rank -Third Rank

National Award

 - Study on food stuff for animal(2005)

 - Study on rice breeding for export and domestic consumption(2005)


- Hybrid Maize by Single Cross V2002 (2003)

- Tomato Grafting to Manage Ralstonia Disease(2005)

- Cassava variety KM140(2010)

Website links
Vietnamese calendar
Visitors summary
 Curently online :  2
 Total visitors :  5437393

Dar Receives MS Swaminathan Award for Leadership in Agriculture
Tuesday, 2013/06/25 | 08:20:21

The Trust for the Advancement of Agricultural Sciences (TAAS), a think tank on advancement of S&T in agriculture in India, has announced that the 2013 Dr. M.S. Swaminathan Award for Leadership in Agriculture has been given to Dr. William Dar, the director general of the International Crop Research Institute for Semi Arid Tropics (ICRISAT). The awards function will be held on June 24, 2013 at New Delhi, India.


Dr. Dar is a citizen of the Philippines and specialized originally in horticulture, receiving his doctoral degree from the University of the Philippines Los Baños. Dr. Dar will give a lecture on "Enhancing Linking Farmers to Markets: The IMOD Way". Dr.K. Kasturirangan, Member, Planning Commission will be the chief guest during the awards. 


The MS Swaminathan Award for Leadership in Agriculture was instituted in honor of Dr. M.S. Swaminathan, the architect of the Green Revolution in India and chairman of the National Commission of Farmers. The award recognizes those who have made great impact in the field of agriculture on a global basis, and in food security and sustainability of agriculture in India. Nobel Laureate Dr. Norman E. Borlaug received the first MS Swaminathan award from former President of India, Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam in March 2005. The second and third Award was presented to distinguished scientists and World Food Laureates Dr. G.S. Khush in 2006 and to Dr. S.K. Vasal in 2007.


The guidelines and nomination for the Dr. M.S. Swaminathan Award for Leadership in Agriculture is available on the TAAS website at http://www.taas.in/.


Back      Print      View: 833

[ Other News ]___________________________________________________
  • Beyond genes: Protein atlas scores nitrogen fixing duet
  • 2016 Borlaug CAST Communication Award Goes to Dr. Kevin Folta
  • FAO and NEPAD team up to boost rural youth employment in Benin, Cameroon, Malawi and Niger
  • Timely seed distributions in Ethiopia boost crop yields, strengthen communities’ resilience
  • Parliaments must work together in the final stretch against hunger
  • Empowering women farmers in the polder communities of Bangladesh
  • Depression: let’s talk
  • As APEC Concludes, CIP’s Food Security and Climate Smart Agriculture on Full Display
  • CIAT directly engages with the European Cocoa Industry
  • Breeding tool plays a key role in program planning
  • FAO: Transform Agriculture to Address Global Challenges
  • Uganda Holds Banana Research Training for African Scientists and Biotechnology Regulators
  • US Congress Ratifies Historic Global Food Security Treaty
  • Fruit Fly`s Genetic Code Revealed
  • Seminar at EU Parliament Tackles GM Crops Concerns
  • JICA and IRRI ignites a “seed revolution” for African and Asian farmers
  • OsABCG26 Vital in Anther Cuticle and Pollen Exine Formation in Rice
  • Akira Tanaka, IRRI’s first physiologist, passes away
  • WHO calls for immediate safe evacuation of the sick and wounded from conflict areas
  • Farmer Field School in Tonga continues to break new ground in the Pacific for training young farmers


Designed & Powered by WEBSO CO.,LTD